Visit to the Saatchi gallery last week

September 5, 2015

I love going the Saatchi gallery every so often as you never really know what to expect. I have been before with many different people and their reactions at the work have been between utter disgust, surprise and awe. Some people walk into the gallery momentarily, only to exclaim ‘That’s not art!!’. I enjoy the fact that the works generally elicit some sort of reaction in the viewers. I am admittedly more of a fan of painting so I found a lot of inspiration in the many different styles on show, looking at these images again I really need to get into making some more of my own work again. Here are some pictures of my favourite paintings, sculptures and drawings there at the moment some of them are a bit shocking but at the same time interesting:

IMG_0831 IMG_0832 IMG_0833 IMG_0834

IMG_0835 IMG_0836 IMG_0837 IMG_0838 IMG_0839 IMG_0840 IMG_0842 IMG_0844 IMG_0847 IMG_0848 IMG_0849 IMG_0850 IMG_0851 IMG_0853 IMG_0855 IMG_0856 IMG_0857 IMG_0858

5 Responses to “Visit to the Saatchi gallery last week”


  1. Awesome. Is the viewers interest in the tree one simply that it’s roots are as expansive as the above ground bit? I mean, is that it?


  2. *Viewer’s, *its… sorry had some wine. But am still interested to know what your opinion is on my question.

    • jwri Says:

      Haha! I’m not sure to be honest, it was part of a series of works of trees (both sculptures and textured 2-dimensional pieces) in a huge room. What was interesting was that when you looked closer you could see how that piece was made from painted wire and paper mâché- from a distance you would think it could easily have been made from found branches. Maybe the tree and its roots could be a metaphor for conscious and subconscious in human experience?


  3. I dunno how useful a metaphor that is. However I loved this post all the same. They’re all really cool visuals.


Leave a Reply

