Art Therapy Groups

July 10, 2015

As part of my job as an occupational therapy assistant with psychiatric inpatients, I help to run  Art Therapy groups every Monday with an art psychotherapist. While patients in the group are encouraged to use art to think about themselves or their current feelings, I also make art work to model to others in the group and to encourage others to try different art materials. Many of the adults that we work with may not have engaged in any art making since school, or even in any art making at all. At the end of the art making time patients are invited to share how it felt to make the art, and to discuss it as much as they feel comfortable to. I however, use the art making time to doodle and to think about group dynamics. My own work is not usually shared with the group, but if I am asked to share it, I discuss my enjoyment of using different art materials as well as their therapeutic and mindful qualities. I made these doodles in art therapy groups over the last two years but only recently thought of sharing them, some of my doodles are probably still at work somewhere, while others may have been thrown away. I like that they were made in a short amount of time, and that making ‘good’ art work was not a priority.

_MG_2015 _MG_2016 _MG_2017 _MG_2019 _MG_2020

2 Responses to “Art Therapy Groups”


  1. I really like your ‘doodles’ – there’s a lightness to them. What media have you used – especially the first one?

    I agree that the act of making art should be more than about making ‘good art’ – which I guess can mean what sells or what other people say is ‘good’

    • jwri Says:

      Thank you! I enjoyed making them, the first one was made with watercolour, while the others were made with pencils, watercolour and felt tip pens 🙂


Leave a Reply

