Ink Drawings From Life Class

June 19, 2015

I’m still attending my weekly life class and absolutely loving it! I’m pleased with the progress I’ve made, drawing from life really makes a difference and has definitely helped to improve my drawing ability. This week we used inks, sticks and dry paint brushes to experiment with mark making. This appealed to my interest in linear forms. Much of the class again involved quick studies, many of them between 2 and 15 minutes. Towards the end of the class we did 2 half an hour poses and layered up with both grey and black inks. I found that there was not enough time for each drawing, but this forced me to work quickly. The permanence of the ink made me want to build up these drawings in the grey ink first, you can see how I’ve tried to plot out parts of the body several times to get the foreshortening right (not sure that i achieved this but it was a good learning exercise). I saw one of my peers making some lovely background marks with a dry brush and black ink, so I tried to recreate this in my last drawing. The drawings were made on sheets of A1 cartridge paper.

_MG_2008

_MG_2013

_MG_2009

_MG_2006

_MG_2005

3 Responses to “Ink Drawings From Life Class”

  1. Trevor Mill Says:

    I know that model! Great stuff.

  2. opalskies4 Says:

    looks amazing, I find life drawing very challenging but so useful, I became much confident with my art skills once finishing my first Life drawing course 🙂


Leave a Reply

