Last Night’s Class and Richard Diebenkorn

May 27, 2015

_MG_1970

In last night’s life class we were asked to avoid using line and to focus on tone on the figure through squinting and using charcoal. I found this challenging as the way that I usually draw is very linear, I was inspired by the way that some of my class mates were using the material and tried to use different approaches in this drawing. I remember once being told by one of my university tutors that charcoal is the closest drawing material that you can get to paint. At the time I remember scorning my charcoal, I had never been a fan – mostly due to my lack of confidence and practice with it. A few years later and I am happy with my progress, I still have a lot to learn but I’m finding it quite exciting!

Today I finally went to see the Richard Diebenkorn exhibition at The Royal Academy of Arts. I have always loved Diebenkorn’s amazing use of colour, layering, and blurring between figurative and abstract forms. I made the most of my time at the exhibition and did a few colour studies in oil pastels. I could not find my yellow oil pastel however, so I later added some watercolour and acrylic to my studies (as Diebenkorn without yellow is impossible). 

diebenkorn1

Berkeley 57, 1955 Oil on Canvas

  
            

Leave a Reply

