Liverpool Biennial 2012

November 25, 2012

I’ve been to the Liverpool Biennial every time now for the last 6 years; and I have to admit it’s usually something that I greatly look forward to. For me, the theme of the ‘unexpected guest’ was an interesting idea, the art work however did not appeal to me as much as the work of previous years. My favourite pieces were the paintings of the John Moores Painting Prize, and several of the works in Tate Liverpool. I’m sure that my love of painting made me biased towards particular sorts of art!

‘The Unexpected Guest explores notions of hospitality. Leading and emerging artists have been commissioned to make permanent and temporary public artworks as well as long-term community-based projects.’

Image

Mark WallingerHalf-Brother (Exit to Nowhere – Machiavellian) 1994-5

Image

Hurvin Anderson Jersey 2008

Image


Leave a Reply

