Work Towards My Exhibition Module

April 2, 2012

Exhibition statement:

My artwork is a combination of mixed media, collage and painting in which I explore the concept of identity. The series was an experiment in which, as a woman, I painted not only a female model but also a close friend of a different ethnicity. I wanted to see how these elements would become visible to the onlooker through my interpretations and secondly if my image-making would change as a result of this. At the end of the process, the images at first glance possibly suggest femininity, vulnerability, and sexuality. Alternatively, I see the layers of her intricate personality and how I relate to her; the painting is an amalgamation of both her and I.

 

Leave a Reply

