Rita Ackermann

March 30, 2012

While doing research for my dissertation at the library I had a quick flick through Modern Painters magazine; I was excited to find the work of an artist I had not yet come across. Rita Ackermann is a Hungarian born artist who lives and works in New York. Her earlier work consisted of imagery of nymphs, but it’s some of her more recent abstracted work I find inspiring. I like that Ackermann has such a broad and varied way of working, using mixed media in a consistent portfolio of work. I will be working on the coherence of my own portfolio after university, after the paintings for my degree show I hope to return to mixed media and textiles.

ImageImageImageImageImage

Leave a Reply

